Your SEO optimized title

Phrae Province National Parks

  • The Thailand Government defines North Thailand as consisting of both (1) the 84,000 square kilometre comprising 8 provinces of Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, Phayao, Nan, Lampang, Lamphun, Phrae and Mae Hong Son, which area originally comprised the Lan Na principalities detailed in the North Thailand History link (the Upper North), and (2) the 86,000 square kilometres of the Lower North, comprising the provinces of Kamphaeng Phet, Tak, Sukhothai, Uttaradit, Uthai Thani, Nakhon Sawan, Phichit Phitsanulok and Phetchabun, which area originally comprised the Kingdoms of Sukhothai and later the northern parts of the Kingdom of  Ayutthaya, Thon Buri and Bangkok Empires.
  • The discernable differences between the Upper and Lower North Thailand is explained in the Northern Thailand section.
  • Phrae is both the name of Phrae Province and its capital city, Phrae City. Phrae City is the principal point of arrival for tourists to the region. The Lan Na principalities are also the home of the Khong Muang (Tai Yuan) people as discussed in the North Thailand people links.
  • The biogeographical region of Phrae Province consists of a mountainous region with river valleys. Accordingly many central Asian species of animals and plants reach their southern distributions in these mountain areas. By biogeography we refer to the distribution of animals and plants and particular geography.
  • The major ecosystems in Phrae Province are Hill Evergreen Forest, Mixed Deciduous Forest, Deciduous Dipterocarp Forest and Pine Forest.
  • There are 3 National Parks in Phrae Province.

Phrae tourist attractions and history.
  • Phrae was established by the Mon and also was part of the Haripunchai Empire. Its history goes back to the 829. Its history is similar to the other towns save and except it was the centre of the teak trade and as a result in the 19th C the town had Shan teak merchants so there is a strong presence of Shan style architecture and art and colonial teak houses.
The significant tourist sites are:
  • The original Mon fortifications, the moat, the earthen ramparts the oval shape of the moat and walls
  • Wat Luang which was built in 829
  • Wat Chom Sawan, a Shan styled monastery complex of significance for its wooden exterior and Shan red lacquer and Gold interiors
  • Wat Phra That Cho Hae which was restored in 1336
  • The old city which has an original urban setting to see the original domestic architecture of old Lan Na